Skip to content

SMART Habit Saturday: Non-fiction Reading

February 9, 2008

SMART Habit Saturday

Now that I am back to blogging, I am happy to rejoin the SMART Habit Saturday group.  I found that although I didn’t always succeed in creating the habits I wanted to, I did live a little more intentionally.  With that in mind, my plan this year is to start working on new habits a little more slowly than before with only one or two a month instead of new goals every week.

Last year, I tried to instill a new habit of reading at least one non-fiction book every month.  I tend to get too caught up in fiction, and while fiction isn’t necessarily bad, it is not always the wisest use of one’s time (especially as much time as I sometimes spend on it).  And for a while, I really did start to make this a new habit.  I think this was very beneficial to both me and my family, so I want to get back to it. 

In the right column on my blog, there is a link for the 2008 Puritan Reading Challenge sponsored by Timmy Brister.  I have joined this challenge, which means reading each month’s recommended book from the Puritan Paperback series.  It is my prayer that I can learn from these men who lived hundreds of years ago, but loved God and served His church.  This month, we are reading The Mystery of Providence by John Flavel. 

What new habits would you like to instill?  To join in, visit Lara at the Lazy Organizer’s blog!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2008 4:25 pm

    Sounds like a great habit to start! Have a great week!

  2. February 9, 2008 9:43 pm

    Sounds like a great challenge. I’ve been studying the Great Books series and this months it’s Confessions of St. Augustine. It’s amazing to me that he lived 1700 years ago and we can still read his inspiring words!~

    I’m only working on one habit a month too now. Time to take it easy!

Trackbacks

  1. SMART Habit Saturday: March 8, 2007 « Slava Bogu

Leave a Reply

