Skip to content

Mama, I Think I’m Going to Marry…

October 30, 2007

Every so often, one of the kids comes home from church or school and announces they are going to marry so-and-so when they grow up.  Today was one of those days. 

Funny Boy matter-of-factly said to me on the ride home from Sweet Pea’s karate class, “Mama, I think Madeline and I are going to marry when I grow up.  I want a farm, and she wants a farm.  I want animals, and she wants the same animals.  She wants mice too, and I told her (in quite an emphatic voice, I gathered) that no mice were allowed.”

I told Funny Boy it is really important to make sure you marry the person God has for you.  I asked him if he knew who God wanted him to marry.

“No, Mama.”

I said, “You’ll have to wait quite a while before you know that.  You are seven.  It is too early to know.  Mama and Daddy didn’t know until our early twenties, just like most people.”

“But, Mama, I NEED to know NOW.”

Unfortunately, I know which parent he takes after in the matter of impatience.  🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 31, 2007 1:31 am

    Aren’t children great? My 7 year old son is convinced that he is going to marry a Japanese girl. He doesn’t know who yet, but he knows his wife will be Japanese. It’ll be interesting to see if that is where the Lord will lead him as an adult.

  2. mr.robinson permalink
    October 31, 2007 3:48 pm

    that is awesome. tell him Madeline might not be his soul mate.

Leave a Reply

