Skip to content

Works for Me Wednesday: Dinner in a Jiffy

October 17, 2007

wfmwheader.jpg

Have you ever had one of those days where things did not go as planned?  Maybe the kids have extra homework or someone got sick.  Maybe you had unexpected things come up and didn’t get at home until much later than planned.  Yet, you still have a family to feed.  Or maybe you have last minute company coming over to the house and no time for grocery shopping.

Here’s my solution to this problem, as recommended to me early in my marriage by Mary Mohler, wife of The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary’s president, Al Mohler:  Keep the ingredients for an easy meal always on hand, either in the freezer or pantry.

For us, this usually means always having a bag if biscuits in the freezer that we can prepare to go along with eggs and fruit.  Breakfast for dinner is a quick meal that the family loves.  It is perfect for a day when I get off track with my schedule.

An easy unexpected company meal could be as simple as always having the ingredients for spaghetti on hand.  This might include a box of spaghetti noodles, a jar of sauce or a container of frozen homemade spaghetti sauce, frozen garlic bread, and a box of brownies or a frozen dessert. 

Of course, any meal that uses ingredients easy to keep on hand would do.  Once those ingredients are used, just make sure to replenish them on the next grocery shopping trip.

I had the privilege in our seminary days of taking a course on hospitality from Mrs. Mohler, and this is some of the best advice I received during the class.  That is what has worked for me for many years, including this Wednesday!

Join us at Rocks in My Dryer to share your tips on this Works for Me Wednesday.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2007 1:44 pm

    I need a class on hospitality…perhaps you just gave me lesson one. I love the idea of eggs, fruit and biscuits for dinner, too! Thanks for sharing!

  2. October 17, 2007 3:35 pm

    Dittos on the hospitality class–
    My grandmother was always amazing, having people over after church every week. She thought it was horrid for a visitor to have to eat lunch alone.

    Only, she was retired, and kids grown. I’ve still trying to figure how to have a home that open with three kids and necessary nap-times.

  3. October 18, 2007 10:48 pm

    VERY good tip! And we love breakfast for dinner, too… you’d think it was dessert, or something, they get so excited!

    Hm… well, now that I think of it, maybe it is almost dessert, I mean, french toast is basically fried bread with syrup on top. Pancakes are just a sweet bread with syrup on top, too… but there are blueberries in there, though! Aha!
    And eggs are protein, so it’s all good. 🙂 Better than popcorn and icecream, which I’ve also heard called a “jiffy meal.” Bleh.

Leave a Reply

