Skip to content

Works for Me Wednesday: Staying Sane While Grocery Shopping

October 10, 2007

wfmwheader.jpg

Generally speaking, my children are well behaved, but there is something about grocery shopping that turns them into someone else aliens.  Shopping with my 6 year old, 7 year old, and 9 year old at W@l-M@rt can be quite the experience.  They are more interested in playing (ie spreading across the aisle like a marching band line to prevent any others from going down our aisle) than they are in listening to me.  They like to walk on certain colors, avoid cracks in the concrete and pull on each other…it’s no trouble to them if a sweet elderly lady gets mowed down in the process.  Of course, I realize bribing them isn’t really a good way to instill truth and build character and consideration for others, but sometimes I am DESPERATE!!!! 

Recently we were at the aforementioned store, and 2 of the kids had earned some money.  I decided to let them get a 25 cent coke (that’s any kind of soda or pop to those of you not from the south 🙂 ) from the vending machine which is a rare treat for them since they very rarely have any sugary carbonated beverages.  I am not a big fan of what artificial sweeteners do to the body, so even though I drink diet cokes, I always get the kids regular ones.  I figure the artificial sweeteners are worse than the sugar.

In any case, this was the BEST they have EVER behaved while I was doing a major grocery shopping trip.  Next time, I decided I really didn’t want this sugary drink to be a habit, so we shopped without them.  The difference was noticeable.  If they have a can they are trying to not spill, they are quiet and orderly.  And I have decided it just may be worth the unhealthiness to get us all out of the store still enjoying each other’s company.  Luckily, we don’t all shop together for a big grocery trip that often.  🙂

So, while this is not a particularly healthy habit, this is what works for me!  If you have better (and healthier) ideas for the grocery store, I would enjoy hearing them.  Join us at Rocks in My Dryer to share your Works for Me Wednesday tips!  A special thanks to all of you who gave me ideas for all purpose cleaners last week.  I have been away from my blog for a few days, but I really did appreciate those tips! 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2007 9:28 am

    Great idea! They must play subliminal messages over the sound system in grocery stores that tell kids: Act like little monsters–mommy will toss expensive stuff into her cart just to get you out of here faster! I’ve used this tip at Costco–my son sips his lemonade and forgets to whine about having to sit in the cart!

  2. October 10, 2007 3:42 pm

    And I have heard that sugar is actually a sedative….you know….once the initial high wears off 🙂

  3. October 10, 2007 6:07 pm

    this is good – we actually did a very similar thing this week (with similar success!), only with bottled water. I know it sounds odd, but it was a treat for my kids, though I’m sure it would be hard to move backward from coke!).
    I like the idea of getting the beverage at the beginning – I’ve been using it as a reward for the end of the trip (something that can be taken away)… 🙂

  4. October 12, 2007 8:11 am

    I may have to try this. There have been trips to that oh-so-not-my-favorite store that you mentioned when I’ve just come home so frazzled I wanted to melt into the floor and cry. The last visit to the grocery store ended with a loss of computer and Play Station privileges on their day off from school. I’ll definitely have to try the Coke idea next time! And we call all carbonated beverages “coke,” too.

  5. October 13, 2007 2:39 pm

    We do this, too! My children are soda-deprived and the thought of getting a soda for just being well behaved is an awesome deal.

Leave a Reply

