Skip to content

Works for Me Wednesday: What Cleaner Works for You?

October 3, 2007

wfmwheader.jpg

This week, Shannon at Rocks in My Dryer  has turned the tables upside down and is letting us ask the question about what works for you! 

We have so many cleaners in our house.  Some with bleach, some without.  Some for bathroom counters, some for kitchen counters.  Many will damage grout and seats in the car, not to mention clothes.  I would like my children to participate more in cleaning, but I always think it is too difficult to get them not to mess up their clothes with the cleaner.

So, my question for bloggityville is:  Do you know of a good all purpose cleaner that kills germs and cleans counters and is NOT toxic and doesn’t stain clothes?

Thanks in advance for all of your wisdom in this area!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2007 6:19 am

    Baking soda! I use it to scrub my sinks and sprinkle in the toliet. Also I use a product from Shaklee.net called Basic H. It lasts forever.

  2. October 3, 2007 6:23 am

    I really like Charlie’s All Purpose Cleaner. They make laundry soap, however, I didn’t like the amount of pre-treating I had to do.

    Charlie’s Cleaner will clean just about everything. I use it as my laundry pre-treat when I need to. Bathrooms, tubs, walls, floors, counters, etc. The smell is clean. You might have to use extra elbow grease for some tricky spots, but you certainly don’t get the burning eyes or weird smell.

  3. October 3, 2007 8:13 am

    We are in the process of switching to non-toxic cleaners. I currently have a Method spray and Shaklee’s Basic H. I have found a lot of “recipes” on-line for homemade cleaners using things like vinegar and Borax.

  4. October 3, 2007 8:14 am

    White vinegar. It’s the best. Cleans, shines, natural disinfectant. Go to the vinegarinsitute.com

  5. October 3, 2007 8:45 am

    Mix some vinegar water with some tea tree oil. tea tree oil can be dangerous if aspirated so keep the bottle up high, but the small amount you add to the cleaner is safe.

  6. October 3, 2007 10:22 am

    My favorite is Red Juice. It’s a Clean Team product, and it’s fantastic! No scent, food-safe, biodegradable, non-toxic, cleans wonderfully. It is not a disinfectant, but that doesn’t mean that germs aren’t wiped away with the surfactants in the cleaner. You can buy it at http://www.thecleanteam.com. They have fabulous products (and no, I do not work for them). 🙂

  7. October 3, 2007 10:34 am

    Okay, I can actually pipe in on this one…even though I don’t use it…my fellow “E” lady, does, though! She uses a combination of vinegar and water….I don’t know the exact combination, but it eliminates odor and cleanses….I need to use it, but haven’t done the CHANGE! Hope you are having a great day! See you tonight!

  8. Megan permalink
    October 3, 2007 10:38 am

    Peroxide, although it will bleach out some clothes if it gets on them.

  9. October 3, 2007 1:25 pm

    Baking soda and vinegar ar the best cleaners I’ve found. And they’re nontoxic. 🙂

  10. Julie permalink
    October 3, 2007 2:54 pm

    Norwex cloths. No, I don’t sell them. No chemicals, super excellent results, cuts down cleaning time, saves a pile of $, space and bother!!

  11. October 3, 2007 4:22 pm

    Simple Green! It’s usually in the automotive section, but its actually an all-purpose cleaner. You can even use it as a laundry detergent.

  12. October 3, 2007 6:19 pm

    Mrs Meyers

  13. October 3, 2007 6:55 pm

    Here’s a vote for Method products! The only one I’ve tried and NOT liked was their version of Clorox wipes – everything else has been a two thumbs up – especially their all purpose cleaner and their tub and tile!

  14. benrobinson permalink
    October 4, 2007 1:40 pm

    i am having a hard time believing you got 13 comments about cleaners. i need to take notes.

  15. October 4, 2007 7:00 pm

    I second the vote for Method cleaner – it’s by far my favourite!

  16. October 9, 2007 6:29 am

    I like any cleaner, as long as I’m not the one that has to use it.

Leave a Reply

