Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday: September 24, 2007

September 24, 2007

Menu Plan Monday 

Well, we did NOT do a good job of sticking to our menu plan last week, but it’s no problem since it was in the freezer and didn’t go bad.  It just seems we’ve had an awful lot going on lately.  Good things are happening, but they aren’t planned.  I am not exactly a spontaneous kind of girl, but I am trying to be a little more flexible these days.  It is really out of necessity so that my family and I can enjoy life uninhibited by an irritated mom (that would be me) snapping when things are “out of control.”

I know this week will be busy.  I have an article to write, several meetings for different things I am volunteering for, my regular flute lessons to give, church activities, and I am substituting at the kids’ school later this week for a couple of days.  So, I will just have to pray myself through and make the most of my time.

Here is the plan menu-wise:

Monday:  Curry Rice–This is a holdover from last week, and it is something my family really enjoys!  It is a Japanese dish that includes chicken (or meat of your choice), carrots, potatoes, onions and other veggies (if desired) in a rich curry sauce.  Yummy!

Tuesday:  Tuesdays are hectic because the kids have sports activities.  We will probably have BBQ Chicken Basil Calzones, chips, and a veggie (also a holdover meal from last week).

Wednesday:  Cheesy Broccoli Soup and salad

Thursday:  Leftover Buffet

Friday:  Peppery Breaded Pork Chops, Corn on the Cob, Steamed Broccoli

Saturday:  Oyako-don.  This is another Japanese dish.  It is made with chicken and egg and literally means “parent and child” over rice.  We have not had this in several years, but it used to be one of our favorites.  I’ll try to post the recipe later.

Other than that meal, we’ll probably just have football munchies again on Saturday.

Sunday:  Either eat out after church or have sandwiches.

To see other menus, check out the links at the Organizing Junkie’s blog.  Have a great week in the kitchen! 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2007 7:56 am

    your menu looks so wonderful this week–especially those pork chops!!

  2. September 24, 2007 8:01 am

    Thanks for sharing your menu. I would love to have the recipe for Oyako-don. It sounds interesting and I love interesting food!

  3. September 24, 2007 9:02 am

    You must post the Curry Rice recipe and the Oyako-don recipe…they both sound great! When do we get together to watch a football game?? AU/GA weekend?? ;o)

  4. xboxwife permalink
    September 24, 2007 11:45 am

    The Peppery Breaded Pork Chops sound great!

    I would love to see the recipe for the Oyako-don!

    It sounds like you have a busy week – hope it goes well!

    Mrs. Brownstone @ XBOX Wife
    http://xboxwife.blogspot.com/

  5. September 24, 2007 3:52 pm

    I love this set of meals! Pork chops and calzones, and the Japanese food too! Delish!

Leave a Reply

