Skip to content

Let’s Read, America!

September 23, 2007

Fall Into Reading 2007

Katrina over at Callapidder Days is hosting Fall Into Reading 2007.  It is a way to challenge us to read more often, and more intentionally, as well as a way to hold ourselves accountable.  Since I already began a new goal in August of 2007 to read at least one non-fiction book a month, you’ll see several of those here.  But, you’ll also see some fiction that I hope to read.  Please join in by clicking on the picture or the link above to see the guidelines.  And, as a bonus–she is giving away a book a week this fall from Bethany House and one lucky person will win a $10 gift certificate to Amazon at the close of the challenge.

Non-fiction

Your Child’s Profession of Faith by Dennis Gunderson.  This book basically explores how we as parents should understand young children’s professions of faith and when baptism is appropriate.

The Kingdom of the Cults by Walter Martin, edited by Ravi Zacharias (I’m reading it for a class, so it’s sort of a gimme).  This book is a source of information on a variety of cults and what Scripture has to say about each one.

The Weight of Glory by C.S. Lewis (a re-read, but well worth it).  I love this collection of messages from C.S. Lewis.  It makes me think and appreciate Christ all the more, and it challenges me to see if my worldview is out of order. 

God’s Outlaw by Brian H. Edwards.  This biography on William Tyndale has been around our house for a while, but I have not read it.

Fiction

Beautiful Child by Torey Hayden (based on true accounts).  Hayden’s books are all based on her years of work with severely special needs children.

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini.  This book has been recommended by many, so I am going to make time to read it.

And finally, an additional section comprised of books I would like to read if I finish the others in time.  Originally I had the books below on my lists above, but as I considered the length of some of the books I planned to read, I decided to be more realistic.

Would Like to Read if Time Permits:

Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan.  A classic I’ve never read. 

Russia & the Russians by Geoffrey Hosking.  I enjoy learning about history, and the history of Russia has affected all three of my children who are internationally adopted from former Soviet countries.  This is the first of three books I’d like to read.  The other two are about Kazkhstan and Ukraine.

The Heart of Anger by Lou Priolo.  I started this book last year, but never finished it.  One of my children struggles with anger, and I am learning what I can about how to heal and cope with it.

The Dangerous Book for Boys by Conn & Hal Iggulden.  A friend suggested this book after I told her my hubby and I are more likely to sit inside and read than to go camping with the boys.  I am looking forward to helping the boys explore some more, I don’t know, “boy” kinds of things.  🙂  How’s that for sharp thinking?

The Sound & the Fury by William Faulkner.  I enjoyed reading Faulkner years ago, but have never read this classic.

Not My Will by Francena Arnold.  I don’t know a lot about this book, but it has been highly recommended to me.

Pandora’s Daughter by Iris Johansen (if I can get my hands on it soon enough–it will be released sometime in October).

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2007 10:00 pm

    I enjoyed Kite Runner. Love the name of your Blog being that I am Russian.

    Happy Fall Reading!

  2. September 23, 2007 10:57 pm

    I have tried reading “The Sound & The Fury” both in high school and at college…but at the time it was too complex for me. Faulkner has that effect on a lot of people. I hope to get through this book at some point.

    I am happy that I have “Pilgrim’s Progress.” I will be reading it at some point.

  3. lynn permalink
    September 24, 2007 12:15 am

    I have finally given up on Faulkner. You are a better woman than I!

  4. September 24, 2007 8:04 am

    I have read many on your book list. I have to actually LIMIT my book reading because I am far more likely to be reading a book than to be doing laundry or dishes. My family suffers when I read too much so I limit myself to one book per week.

    I do want to tell you to move the Dangerous book for boys up to the top. It’s not a read through book, but more of an encyclopedia of stuff boys should know. My 8 year old got one for his birthday and we have had a blast going through it. It was his favorite gift.

  5. Ellen permalink
    September 24, 2007 8:21 am

    I’m Lana G’s sister so I’m intrigued by the name of your blog too! Slava Bogu for everything. I bought the Dangerous Boys Book and just left it on the table…it’s fun to watch my 26 year old boy pick it up and enjoy it…

  6. September 24, 2007 5:32 pm

    I’ve heard so many good things about The Kite Runner too… so I decided to put it on my list this time around. Also, my 8-year-old had fun this summer, picking up the Dangerous Book for Boys and reading a section, trying something out, etc. Good book! Thanks for joining the Fall into Reading challenge!

  7. September 24, 2007 5:38 pm

    Wow! You have quite an impressive and ambitious list. I’ve read many of those you listed. Two of my very favorites are Pilgrim’s Progress and Not my Will.

  8. October 2, 2007 3:06 pm

    Interesting selections!

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

