Skip to content

The Day of the Unexpected

September 4, 2007

Today, nothing went the way I had planned it to.  I dropped the kids at school and wasted about 50 minutes and $4.50 at St*rb*cks so I could meet with my ESL student at her house at 9:00 a.m.  Last week, she had asked me to do something unethical in my eyes, although not in hers.  My conscience was in turmoil at just the thought of agreeing to do it.  When I called her to say I could not, I was concerned that she would no longer be interested in tutoring.  But, I was pleased to hear her say, “Okay.  See you on Tuesday.”  You can imagine my surprise when I arrived at her house after planning several lessons, a house which is on the opposite side of the city from where I live (at least a 45 minute trek) and was told, “I’m sorry.  My husband very upset.  Maybe we do lesson in October.  Maybe next week.  Maybe October.”

Not only was this disappointing financially, as we were using this money to help fund our children’s education and she had requested several hours a week of tutoring, but I also had no time to go home before my child’s doctor’s appointment.  So, in desperation, I called a good friend who homeschools and asked if I could hang out in a room at her house and work on the children’s missions curriculum.  Thankfully, I have learned to take something I can work on with me wherever I go.  She readily agreed, and once I got over my irritation at the student’s lack of respect for my time, I was able to get some things done.

After doing this for a while, I went over to the school to check my son out for his appointment.  Naturally, I was running late.  Naturally, when we arrived at the doctor’s office after I drove like an Indy 500 race car driver, the doctor was running late.  Fifty minutes late, to be exact.  So much for planning appointments during my son’s lunch hour so he could experience minimal loss of classroom time.  And it isn’t that I don’t understand running late and that she had to squeeze Monday and Tuesday into Tuesday, but if that’s the case, please have the secretary call.  Minutes after my son’s appointment began, another person arrived.  Thirty minutes later, he said, “I guess they are running late.”  Oh, if only you knew.

By the time my son returned to school, I had no time to get lunch, and the sugarfree hazelnut latte was not tasting so good anymore.  I hung around for a few minutes at the school, because I had no time to go home or accomplish anything before school ended.

Why am I telling you all the boring, mundane, frustrating things about my day, you may wonder?  Because, when I had settled down, I realized that I had some unexpected blessings as well.  I got to work on something I really love thanks to a sweet friend who let me just come over and quietly hang out while she taught her children.  I was blessed to hear how encouraging she was to them.  I am blessed that she is my friend and prays for me and encourages me.  Later, because I had to “hang out” at the school with “nothing to do”, God encouraged me through several conversations with the staff there.

Even more, once I thought about it, I realized that God has taught me so much about trusting Him over the last two years that I now have a peace about waiting on his timing for the finances, a peace that has eluded me in the past.  Before, I would have stressed and worried and fretted and literally been sick to my stomach.  This time, I have concern (I mean, I’m still me), but I am not anxious about it.  I know God has a plan.  I know His plan may be different.  I know His plan is perfect.  I can rest in that. 

For someone who has always been a worrier, that is a true blessing indeed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2007 9:11 pm

    What they asked you to do was definitely unethical. God will provide, whether or not they want you in Oktober.

    Excog

  2. September 6, 2007 10:49 am

    Sounds so familiar! Nothing can push my “irritation” button faster than interrupted plans. And then, I tend to take it out on my family, which is WRONG! Then I have guilt added to the frustration. I am slowly learning to hold my plans lightly, and to remember that my plans are not always God’s! Just like you said, and your responses were directly related to that understanding. I have a quote on my blog that stays there perpetually as a reminder to me that those obstacles of life that I am trying so hard to “overcome,” would be easier to deal with if I would instead, “accept.” As my friend Lori always says, “It just is what it is.” The sooner I realize that, the better off I will be! (and the happier my poor family will be, too! )

    It will be interesting to see how the Lord works out His plans in your life. Keep us posted!
    Jen

Leave a Reply

