Skip to content

More Questions

September 3, 2007

Tonight, it was my turn to tuck Sweet Pea into bed.  Bossy Boy, Funny Boy, Sweet Pea, Hubby and I had enjoyed a long day of relaxing with some dear friends.  There were more children than adults, so you can imagine the noise and laughter!

As I was tucking Sweet Pea into bed with her two new stuffed animals (Build a Bear bunnies from McD’s), she asked, “Mommy, can we pray tonight for my Kazakh mommy?”  She is so concerned about whether this first mommy knows Jesus.  We talked for a while about how most Kazakhs are not believers, but we can rejoice that there is a growing church there where God is shining His light.  Then she prayed the sweetest prayer.  She asked God to shine His light in Kazakhstan, for Him to help Kazakh people believe in Him, and for Him to send missionaries there to tell people about Jesus.  Then she prayed for her Kazakh mommy, that she would know Jesus.  I was so touched by the sincerity of her prayer and by the fact that it is one of the few unscripted prayers I have heard from her.

Afterwards, she began the time of inquisition.  If you read an earlier post, you are aware that the questions my children are asking have made me realize that I must now get my doctorate in every subject during the minute amount of time I am not doing laundry, cooking, cleaning, chauffering, helpmating (is that a word?), and tutoring. 

Sweet Pea started with,

“Mommy, I don’t understand this ‘eternal’ thing.  How can God have not had a beginning?” 

This was followed by

“Where did God live before He created the world?”

“Why can’t people see God?”  (I am glad we have already learned through the catechism our children memorize that God is a Spirit and does not have a body like men.  That made the answer a little easier [ha ha–emphasis on little].)

“If God doesn’t have a beginning, why was Jesus born?”

“How come it is too much for man to see God, but Peter and his disciples could see Jesus?”

“Explain eternal again.”

followed by nonchalantly saying,

“Okay.  I think I’ve got it.  How do you make the ponytail holder on this bunny’s ears look the same as the ponytail holder on the other bunny’s ears?”

Even though my head hurts from thinking so much, it was a sweet, precious time.  My children often renew my sense of wonder and curiosity.  And I am truly amazed at their ability to switch topics so easily.

I hope everyone’s Labor Day was as happy as ours!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

