Skip to content

Sweet Pea’s Sayings

August 31, 2007

Some of my favorite moments with Sweet Pea lately:

Sweet Pea read to Funny Boy and me the other night.  She was acting as the teacher, with her brother sitting on the floor listening.  I had to tell her that she was showing the pictures so quickly that Funny Boy didn’t have a chance to see them before she turned the book back around to read.  Sweet Pea giggled and said, “Mommy, I’m not a real teacher, ya know.”  She followed this by saying in the middle of the book, “This is my best night ever of reading to you and Funny Boy.”

Recently, she informed me that she wished her school room, which has tables instead of desks, looked like a “real first grade room.”  Funny Boy said, “It is a real first grade room, Sweet Pea” to which she replied, “No, Funny Boy, I mean with personal desks (imagine hands quickly slashing through the air defining what these look like), and three of them together so Gracie can sit on the other side of me.”

Bossy Boy is learning penmanship this year, and he wrote a Bible verse in cursive the other day on a paper with a bird decoration.  When Sweet Pea saw it, she declared in her best Southern drawl, “Oh, [insert long drawn out brother’s name], I have never seen such beautiful handwriting in…in…in my ENTIRE life.”  Because, you know, it has been such a long one.

I absolutely love watching the kids interact together these days…well, at least at times like these!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 31, 2007 5:41 am

    Okay, I absolutley *ADORE* Sweet Pea and all of her sayings…but her love for her brothers is the sweetest thing of all!!!

Leave a Reply

