Skip to content

Words to Dwell On

August 30, 2007

Mary Cassatt Painting 

Christian contentment is that sweet, inward, quiet, gracious frame of spirit, which freely submits to and delights in God’s wise and fatherly disposal in every condition.

Jeremiah Burroughs

I look forward to the day when no matter the circumstances I will have finally learned to rest in God, fully trusting Him in every circumstance, fully joyful in being His. 

The painting above is by Mary Cassatt, an American artist who worked in the impressionist style.  The subject is in the garden, holding her dog, and to me is a perfect picture of one enjoying the bounty of God’s creation.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 30, 2007 6:42 pm

    I have really enjoyed our little “chats” this week! Thanks for stopping by.
    I like this picture a lot, too… as I was looking at it I had this thought…
    “I need to sit down more!” 🙂 Sometimes I don’t even sit down to eat lunch. THAT is not “enjoying God’s bounty,” for sure. Thanks for the inspiration… I’ll try it tomorrow.
    Jen

Leave a Reply

