Skip to content

Questions

August 28, 2007

Earth

Bossy Boy and I were discussing his weekly vocabulary words tonight at dinner.  You know, just a casual discussion of what an environment is and the crust, mantle and core of the earth.  The type of stuff we discuss EVERY DAY around the dinner table.  Okay.  Maybe not.

Anyway, in the midst of this conversation, which was actually very interesting, the topic turned to the sun and the planets and how God had placed the earth perfectly so that we could have life, why Pluto’s status had changed, whether or not the sun was the biggest star, and why seasons and times of day change.  I had to eventually refer them to Pa, my father, who is much more informed about matters of astronomy than I.

About a third of the way into this conversation, as we discussed the earth orbiting around the sun as well as revolving on its axis, Sweet Pea, our ever curious six year old, piped up with, “Mama, I have ALWAYS wondered about that.  Why is land flat when the earth is round?”  As I tried to intelligently articulate the answer to her, I felt like I had gone back to ancient times when it was difficult to convince anyone other than some sailors and scientists that the earth was round.  Finally, I had to resort to sticking my arms out in a vague resemblance of the top part of a large round ball and explain that the curve was so large that if a H*ot WH*eels car went over it, it would seem flat to them.  Thankfully, that seemed to win all the kids over, but I knew I had better be getting more competent with my explanations because that won’t satisfy for long.

I am finding that in life you go to school and learn for a long time, then you get out of school and forget much of what you learned academically while trying to learn other things like financial management, home management, people management and how to get along with others in the workplace.  Next children come along and life is filled with laundry and cooking and cleaning and teaching ABCs and Jesus’ love for them and the art of play.  Then one day you look up and your children have grown leaps and bounds before your eyes and they are going to school and asking some really good questions and you feel like you need to go to school all over again to answer them all. 

Who said you only had to go to school once?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 28, 2007 9:31 pm

    So funny! And so true! I am definitely getting my second education – and I think it might be better than the first! It’s funny how the simplest questions can stump you… “Mommy, what does TRUE mean?” Hmmm… how far does he want me to go with that, I wonder? I used to try to get away with the simplest answers, but I’ve given up on that, it never satisfies. They are voracious, aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

