Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday: August 20, 2007

August 20, 2007

Menu Plan Monday

First, let me just say that despite having a HUGE cleanup job in the kitchen following my first round of freezer cooking, the benefits have been well worth it.  We have eaten out less, and our meals have been better (ie not thrown together at the last minute).  I did find that I tried too many time consuming recipes this time.  Next time, I will do half easy recipes and half multi-step recipes. 

My husband was a huge fan of the Chicken Packets and really enjoyed the Chicken Enchiladas as well.  The kids liked the Chicken Packets and the Bacon Cheeseburger Rice casserole, but their favorite was the South of the Border Quiche.  I like the ease of the quiche, as it does not have to be thawed out the night before.

 I also made Taco Roll-Ups and Pizza Spirals for the children’s lunches.  The kids really liked the Taco Roll-Ups, but I got mixed reviews of the Pizza Spirals.  Sweet Pea was not a big fan of the cream cheese in them, and one son liked them, one did not.

I made Sausage Breakfast Muffins for breakfast.  They were easy, filling, and the kids really liked them!  This week, I am making a big batch of Mini Cinnamon Twists to freeze and have for breakfast so we have more variety. 

Here’s the plan for this week:

 Monday:  Barbeque Pork Chops, Creamed Corn, Salad

Tuesday:  BBQ Chicken Basil Calzones, Steamed Broccoli, side of some sort of potatoes

Wednesday:  Sandwiches

ThursdaySouth of the Border Quiche, Potato Soup

Friday:  Harusame, Rice, maybe Miso Soup

Saturday:  Peppery Breaded Pork Chops

Sunday:  Chicken Enchiladas, Spanish Rice, Chips & Salsa, Dessert

To join other Menu Plan Monday bloggers, visit Laura at I’m An Organizing Junkie!  I hope you have wonderful family meal times this week. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2007 9:03 am

    We love quiche so I will be trying the South of the Border Quiche. I think my teenager would love the BBQ calzones. I do a lot of freezer cooking too. Did OAMC for 15 years!

  2. August 20, 2007 9:34 am

    I think I’ll be trying some of these recipes you linked. Thanks!
    Barb’s Fridge
    SFO Mom

  3. August 20, 2007 10:36 am

    Thanks for the links. I think I might have to adapt some of those to our preferences.

  4. amyswandering permalink
    August 21, 2007 12:20 pm

    I’ll be trying the pork chops – thanks!

Leave a Reply

