Skip to content

Smart Habit Saturday: Taking Tomorrow’s Meal Out of the Freezer Tonight

August 18, 2007

SMART Habit Saturday 

I missed last Saturday’s Smart Habit post, but I am happy to be back with all of the other smart habit bloggers out there this week.  My new habit of writing one handwritten letter a week got off to a nice start.  I finished a non-fiction book so I’ve met this month’s quota on that goal.  Here is my progress on other habits I’ve tried to start:

Chore Charts–habit, need to change from summer tasks to school year tasks this week, though

Making Up My Bed–better

Touch the Mail Only Once–fair, but getting back on track

Playing Games with the Children–good (revised goal to once weekly during the school year)

Encouraging the Kids More–better, but definite room for improvement

One Diet Coke a Day–fair, 5/7 which looks good but the diet coke is getting replaced by Peach Fresca

My new habit for this week corresponds with the fact that I have started Once a Month Cooking (OAMC) or in my case, OEFWC–Once Every Few Weeks Cooking.  🙂  It has been a great help at our house and has definitely reduced eating out and made the kids’ lunches more interesting than having a PB & J every day.  However, for it to work, I almost always need to remember to get tomorow’s meal out of the freezer tonight in order that it might thaw out.  Thus, my new habit will be to check my menu for the next day before going to bed at night so that I can get the appropriate dinner and lunch foods out of the freezer.

For all the other SMART habit bloggers out there, I hope your new habits are going strong!  If you want to join in on the fun, check out The Lazy Organizer’s list and add your own new habits.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2007 12:36 pm

    keep up the goals, your doing good. Happy Saturday

  2. August 18, 2007 12:55 pm

    Sounds good!! Let us know how it works out!

  3. August 18, 2007 9:38 pm

    Great goal, freezing the meals can take some of the spontaneity out of dinner, but it is so nice to have a hot meal every night.

  4. August 19, 2007 5:52 am

    I’ve wanted to try that OAMC but my freezer isn’t large enough. Maybe a once every two weeks would work for me. So long as there’s still room for my ice-cream. : P It looks like your habits are going really well. Good luck with the new one & adjusting to back to school.

Leave a Reply

