Skip to content

Thankful Thursday

August 16, 2007

As another Thursday has arrived, I find myself thankful once again for the many blessings God has given me.

1.  A classical Christian school.  My children started school this week and are attending a small classical Christian school.  I am so thankful already for the godly teachers they have.  They are learning His story…not just history.  They are learning of the grace and mercy of God.  They are learning how to live in a right relationship with others.  They are learning how to be better readers, writers, scientists and mathematicians.  To top it all off, my children enjoy their teachers, look forward to school each morning, and chatter excitedly about it each evening.

2.  A certain new coffee store where we live.  Here, the *bucks* are big, but the drinks are *stars*.  I really don’t know if I should be thankful or not.  I was probably a lot better off when we didn’t have one.  🙂

3.  Sleep.  I didn’t get much last night, as my dd was sick, but it made me realize how thankful I am for that gift.

4.  Working AC.  It has been over 100 degrees almost every day for several weeks now and our AC has not been working correctly.  Yesterday, it got a temporary fix.  In two weeks, it should get a permanent fix.  It makes me feel nice good unbelievably fantastic like a civilized person to have the house in the mid-seventies again.  The hubby and kids really appreciate it too when I am done making dinner and I am not having a heat stroke.

5.  Running water and electricity.  Suffice it to say that I am very close to some people who have lived without it, and although millions continue to do so, I am thankful that at least currently, I am not one of them.

6.  Dance.  I really enjoy the gift of dance…or at least watching it in others.  I wish we saw dancing in praise more than we do and the cruder forms of dancing not at all, but there is a beauty and an ability to move others’ hearts through the art of dancing that I appreciate.

7.  God’s abundant blessing in our lives.  Without going into details, God has brought us together with someone this week that we did not previously know.  It has happened in a way that is undeniably all of His doing and the blessing is of immeasurable worth and benefit to our family.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

