Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday: August 13, 2007

August 13, 2007

Menu Plan Monday 

Wow, what a weekend!  I have been thinking about doing Once a Month Cooking (OAMC) for some years, and finally got serious about it.  Back in the late winter, when I was in the midst of excruciating pain from a back problem, a dear friend brought me about a week’s worth of meals, most of which I was able to put in the freezer and take out as needed.  I can’t tell you how convenient this was.  The meals were such a blessing to our family. 

I have, over the last couple of months, been thinking about when to do this and trying to find recipes that freeze easily.  I decided to start this weekend as the children are starting school and I want to spend time with them after school rather than always cooking.  My husband (wise one that he is) suggested that I try twice a month cooking at first, although I think we will have enough dinners for at least three weeks and breakfasts and lunches should last about a month.

Saturday I spent about 7 hours in the kitchen, followed by about 3 yesterday and another few today.  I think I have learned some things that will save me time in the future (one of which is to pick several simple recipes and only a few complicated ones!).

With all of that said, here is our menu for this week:

Monday:  My Granny’s Brunswick Stew, Cornbread

Tuesday:  Bacon Cheeseburger Rice, Garlic Bread, Green Veggy

Wednesday:  South of the Border Quiche, Salad

Thursday:  Leftovers

Friday:  Chicken Enchiladas, Spanish Rice, Chips & Dip, Dessert

Saturday:  Borscht & Ukrainian Bread (carryover from last week)

Sunday:  Chicken Packets, Pasta Salad, Chips, Fruit

Everything except sides and Saturday’s meal has already been made!  I’ll put information about breakfasts and lunches I made in a separate post once I see how they turn out.

Be sure to join the rest of the Menu Plan Mondays bloggers over at The Organizing Junkie!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2007 10:44 am

    yum–I have never made Borscht but heard it is really good!! Have a great week.

  2. August 13, 2007 6:52 pm

    Your menu plan looks great! Have a wonderful weekend.

  3. Anne@Anne'sCAfe permalink
    August 13, 2007 8:10 pm

    I love freezer cooking! That’s great that you did all that work! We just moved, so I can’t wait to start planning my next freezer-meal session. Thanks for the recipes- they sound great! 🙂 Blessings!!

  4. excogitatingengineer permalink
    August 14, 2007 6:40 am

    You forgot to mention the 2+ hours I spent at Wal-Mart trying to find all the ingredients.

  5. August 20, 2007 4:19 am

    Looks like a great week! I did OAMC and I LOVED having all of those meals in the freezer but I spend all day doing it. Now I just try and double recipes that freeze well. I shoot for one a week but sometimes I can come up with more than that. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

