Skip to content

PB&J Days–Please Help!

August 7, 2007

That time of year is now approaching, staring us in the face as if daring us to have any more summertime fun.  Yes, I am talking about school.  Of course, the truth is that I am, have always been, and probably will continue to be a total nerd–I love school!  Thankfully, my children seem to really enjoy it as well.

This year, as I mentioned in another post, we are attending a different school.  The kids have to take their lunch every day.  This translates into Mama has to be organized (oh, the horror) every day.  I also really need some creative help from any readers out there.  Other than the occasional soup, I pretty much only do ham sandwiches, turkey sandwiches, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, or bologna (you guessed it) sandwiches.  Sides include chips, a fruit or vegetable, and something sweet.  Drinks are a packaged juice or water.

I just feel like after the third or fourth or fifty-sixth day, this gets so, I don’t know, boring? mundane?  I would love to read any tips you have for putting some excitement into school lunches packed from home.  And my kids thank you in advance.

One Comment leave one →
  1. bellajournal permalink
    August 7, 2007 8:59 am

    My kids LOVE when I make them salad for lunch. I buy the pre-packaged salad mix and cut it into smaller bites for them. Feta cheese, tomato, green pepper, hunks of cheese (whatever I have on hand), I put almonds and croutons in a separate container so they don’t get mushy. A little side of dressing in a separate container and they love it. Also, instead of sandwich, a “wrap” flour tortilla. Also, they love when I use the thermos and give them Spaghetti o’s. I try to make it as fun as I can. But, their favorite lunch meal is the salad.

Leave a Reply

