Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday: August 6, 2007

August 6, 2007

Menu Plan Monday 

First, a review of the last menu plan I posted:

I didn’t make the Italian Breaded Porkchops as planned, because my sister showed me a quick, yummy, healthy, South Beach friendly way to make them.  Just toss the chops in the Italian Dressing packet you buy when making salad dressing at home, and then coat the chops in either shredded or powdered parmesan cheese.  Bake them at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.  They are moist, well seasoned and quite delicious.

The Crockpot Cheesy Ravioli Casserole was good.  It made enough for our family of five to eat 2-3 meals.  We will make it again, and I will experiment some with the sauce to get it a little thinner and exactly the right taste.  Overall, easy prep.  I didn’t saute the garlic and onion first, although I am sure that would be even better.  Frankly, I wanted to minimize pan usage so I could have that time to tell my boys to calm down and my girl to share and my puppies to not chew the carpet–well, you get the point!

The fresh grilled summer pizzas were excellent.  Next time, I will try the caesar sauce instead of pesto, though, because the pesto had a little aftertaste. 

Whew, I didn’t know I had it in me to try so many new things in one week!!  Now for this week’s culinary endeavors:

Monday:  Dinner at my sister’s house.  Mom is in town and we’re having meatloaf, mashed potatoes, fried okra, salad, Key Lime bars and a frozen Oreo cookie dessert.  Yummmm!

Tuesday:  Grilled chicken, salad, corn on the cob, pasta salad

Wednesday:  Sandwiches

Thursday:  We have a parent orientation for the new school year.  My children will be at their aunt’s house for dinner, and my husband and I will probably just grab something quick and easy from the fridge.

Friday:  Borscht & Ukranian bread

Since this week is so crazy with family in town and getting ready for school to start, I am not even attempting to plan the weekend.  🙂  I hope y’all have a wonderful week in the kitchen!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2007 4:37 pm

    your menu looks delicious!! Have a great week.

Leave a comment