Skip to content

SMART Habit Saturday: Writing One Handwritten Note Weekly

August 4, 2007

Smart Habit Saturday 

Well, as you can tell, my bloggy break is over.  It was wonderful to spend quality time with some family members I rarely see, like my Granny, and others I hear see all the time, like my children.  With one more precious week of summer left, I plan to spend most of my time playing with the kids, knowing that housework can be done next week.

This week, I want to take a page from some of the other smarty-pants out there and start writing at least one handwritten note per week.  In our day of PDAs, text messages via cell phones, email, Facebook, blogs, etc., there is nothing quite like receiving an unexpected handwritten note in the mail.  It just seems more personal, and is encouraging to the recipient.  I love seeing mail that isn’t junk or a bill.  I am not organized about remembering birthdays of those outside my family, but I can send one teensy weensy note of encouragement out every week.

Here’s how I am doing in building my other habits: 

Read One Non-fiction Book Monthly–undetermined 

Chore Charts–great, habit

Making Up My Bed–poor

Touch the Mail Only Once–good, 5/7 days

Playing Games with the Children–fair (once a week instead of three times, but as school starts, once a week is probably more reasonable anyway)

Encouraging the Kids More–fair, but definite room for improvement

One Diet Coke a Day–poor (I slipped on this while out of town this week)

I hope your habits are going strong!  To join Smart Habit Saturday, visit The Lazy Organizer.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2007 8:56 am

    Good job on your habits. I think you are doing well overall. A handwritten note is a great new habit. I’ll have to keep that one in mind for another week! Have a great week!

  2. toddlerheaven permalink
    August 4, 2007 10:17 am

    Wow what an awesome idea. I have been thinking that I should do this more for a while now (as I live so far away from family and friends) but I never thought to do one a week which makes it manageable. I love to write too so I have no excuse….except email is soooooo easy! Good luck this week

  3. August 4, 2007 6:01 pm

    Wow, one diet coke a day?? You’re better than me! I am a terrible diet coke junkie! : )

Leave a Reply

