Skip to content

Thankful Thursday: Counting My Blessings

July 26, 2007

So it is Thursday, and y’all, our family has been so blessed this week.  On Monday, one of my sons who had been working hard to improve in an academic area for the new school we are attending this fall was retested, and he did great!  Mama and Daddy are so proud of him!!

On Tuesday morning, we got to go see Ratatouille with some friends and their children.  The kids really enjoyed it, and with the glaring exception of “Welcome to H-E-double hockey sticks” being uttered (for some reason that was mysteriously left out of a family movie review website that is normally SO on top of it), the movie was clean and entertaining.  Of course, I have to admit that a couple of the scenes with hundreds of rats pouring out of places TOTALLY GROSSED ME OUT, but even so, overall I enjoyed it (once I got over the shudders). 

Tuesday night, I got to have a girls night out with a friend.  We went to the new pet store in town, had dinner, saw a movie, and then just sat and talked.  It was so nice.  Plus, I see about 3 movies a year, in a good year, at the theater.  So two in a day was just too much fun!  Thanks to My Honey for allowing me this break.

Wednesday we attended our library’s Summer Reading Program awards ceremony, where we got not one, not two, not three, but four prizes.  They were really great prizes too…no sirree, no junk here.  We got two backpacks stuffed with school supplies, a monetary award for Sweet Pea reading the second most books for her age group, and a piggy bank chock full of generosity from library patrons who had been stuffing it all year long.  And y’all, that doesn’t even count the multiple coupons for free Ice Dream at Chic-fil-A and free personal pan pizzas at Pizza Hut.  Could life get any better?!?!?!?!!

With that, I just don’t know if I can stand thinking about any more that I am grateful for.   But, I will attempt it…here are seven more things to be thankful for this week:

1.  The Color Purple.  It’s hard to go wrong with a beautiful shade of purple on walls, clothes or in flowers.

2.  God’s Provision.  When our church did VBS, we had children coming who had ill-fitting shoes, or two left shoes.  Some had clothes so worn they were threadbare.  I was reminded of how grateful I am for God’s abundant provision for our family.  I was also reminded that I don’t have to travel far to see true need right in our area.

3.  The Library.  Really, after what I wrote above, I probably don’t even need to explain this one, but in all seriousness, isn’t it a blessing to live where we can go a few miles down the road and check out books to broaden our horizons, give us a few moments of pleasure, or impart knowledge to us?

4.  Mema.  Although she is not a blood relation, she is a dear sister in Christ who is like a grandmother to my husband and great-grandmother to my children.  She never forgets a birthday, and no matter how many years go by, she just keeps serving.

5.  Sweet Pea.  She turns 6 this week, and she remains one of the greatest blessings in my life.  I am so thankful God chose to bless us with her.  I love her so much it hurts sometimes, like my heart is just going to swell up and pop it is so full!

6.  House of Java.  Not only is it a great little coffee shop, it has a walled off playground inside.  Now that’s what I’m talking about.

7.  Pest Control Services.    As you can probably tell, seeing as how I’ve already shared how grateful I am for bug spray, I am not a huge bug fan.  We’ve had an ant problem the last couple of weeks at my house, and I can’t tell you how much relief it gives me to just dial a little number I keep handy, and the bug guys come and the bugs go and life is good again.

So there you have it…seven things I am thankful for this week.  Remember to count your blessings when you get discouraged and remember what God has done. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

