Skip to content

Smart Habit Saturday: Read 1 Nonfiction Book a Month

July 21, 2007

Smart Habit Saturday

I missed last Saturday because I was too busy doing important stuff  spending time with my kids playing at the beach, but I am back, refreshed, and ready to start improving our lives!  This week, I have decided that I want to read at least one nonfiction book a month.  I love to read, but after college, I was just sick of reading nonfiction.  I still read some nonfiction, but the vast majority of what I read was fiction.  Lately, I have started really enjoying nonfiction again, and I think it is good for the mind to read some of it regularly.  I am not starting with a huge goal, just one nonfiction book a month.

Here’s a report on the habits I have previously begun implementing this year:

Encouraging the Kids More:  Better 

Playing Games with the Children:  Okay

Chore Charts — Great!, Habit

Making up my bed:  Not very good

Touch the mail only once:  Good

One Diet Coke a Day:  I am amazed to say, I did really well this week!

Finally, here is a picture of one of our chore charts as promised long ago.  These charts aren’t the most beautiful, but it is easy to add and remove chores since it is all homemade.  Best of all, the kids love it!  They enjoy moving their chores to the “Done” section when they are completed.  They also like to get tokens for completing all their chores and for reading their Bibles.  After they receive a certain amount of tokens, they earn a dollar.  This is my 5 year old’s chore chart, although I think one of her chores is not on it at the moment:

Chore Chart

You can see a larger picture in my post here.  I had trouble getting the size right in this post, but Flickr came to my rescue.  🙂

Have a great week, and good luck implementing all your new habits!  To join in, visit the Lazy Organizer.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2007 4:16 pm

    Good for you-
    playing with your kids at the beach is great…missed you last week…
    and chore charts are great…
    I will post mine a little later!
    Have a good one 🙂

  2. July 21, 2007 10:15 pm

    Everyone should have a little (or maybe a lot) of beach time. Good for you on the Diet Coke, I am slowly getting there, sorta.

    I like your chore chart idea, it is so fun to see what others do and how it works for them.

  3. July 22, 2007 5:28 am

    I miss the beach! Good job this week, overall you’re doing really well. Good luck this week!

  4. July 22, 2007 9:38 am

    I love your chore chart! I might make one of my own. 😀

    I agree that college can really make you not want to read much afterwards. Have fun trying to get that one book in a month! 🙂

Leave a Reply

