Skip to content

Thankful Thursday: Counting My Blessings in the U.S.A.

July 5, 2007

Okay.  So I spent the fourth of July at home, alone, while the kids and hubby went off to spend a wonderful day with friends because my sinuses are slowly trying to kill me, as they have been ever since 1998.  It is a battle we wage a little too often, and frankly, I am getting sick of it.

I did take some time to help hubby make some patriotic cupcakes with the kids.  They turned out so good!  He is an amazing man, as he also got stuck with making Uncle Shelby’s spicy crockpot baked beans to take to a barbeque and they turned out terrific, albeit not quite as spicy as normal.

My little girl lost her first tooth last night!  She was soooooo excited.  She gave me many hugs as she tried to calm down.  I told her the Tooth Fairy might be off because it was a holiday.  Later, my husband went to, ahem, check on her, and she popped right up with “Daddy, is that you giving me a goodnight kiss?”  Then she said, “I don’t think the Tooth Fairy is going to come.” 

That would be a real shame, after all the work she did on the “Welcome Tooth Fairy” sign she hung on the door last night.  This morning, though, she was all smiles as she showed me the note and money and fairy dust the Tooth Fairy left her.  🙂

In any case, being home gave me time to think about the things I am thankful for in the U.S.A.

1.  Freedom (We are free to worship as we choose without fear of imprisonment, beatings, ostracization, etc.).

2.  Wide open spaces (After being in Tokyo, I appreciate even more the ability to view the sky, uninhibited by a concrete jungle).

3.  Lines and order (After traveling to Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Russia, Indonesia, etc., I have come to learn that most of the world does not have a culture that includes politely waiting your turn in line.  Rather, they try to press their way forward in any way possible.  As my daughter would say, “Mama, they cutted.”).

4.  Women’s Rights (Conservative that I am, and knowing that I think the women’s liberation movement has gone over the edge, I know that I am blessed to live where my voice can be heard, where my vote counts, and where I have some ability to affect my situation in my life).

5.  Capitalism (Because of capitalism, there are many books easily available for purchase at a price I can afford  🙂  I realize that on paper, capitalism does not sound like the best system, and certainly, it has its faults.  But nothing else seems to work as well in reality.).

6.  Medical Care (Because of capitalism, our medical care is top notch.  The medical industry is motivated to get better and offer excellent care.  Now if we could just get the insurance industry to make competent care widely available, we’d be doing good).

7.  Being a blessing (Because we are SO blessed in our nation, we have the ability to participate in the privilege of giving to others).

8.  Election (We ELECT our leaders in a, for the most part, very uncorrupted way.  This is a privilege few on earth have, and we must not take it lightly).

I know I am only supposed to list 7, but there are so many things I love about America that I could only narrow it to 8.  Let freedom ring, and don’t forget to count your blessings!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2007 8:41 am

    amen to your thanksgivings

  2. July 5, 2007 3:06 pm

    Great blessings. I have to say that we, in America, are blessed by many skyscrapers and beautiful skylines as well. As David Hardgrave says, “God is glorified through skyscrapers.”

Leave a Reply

