Skip to content

Menu Plan Monday

July 2, 2007

Menu Plan Monday

I had a pretty good week of staying somewhat close to schedule and actually managed to try several new recipes last week.

The Chili-Lime Chicken Kabobs get a a a.  They were fine, but I have tasted marinades I like better.  The Raspberry-Peach Cobbler receives a a a a.  It was excellent, but I will most likely leave out the raspberries next time in favor of an all peach cobbler. 

Our favorite new recipe of the week was the Mu-Shu Chicken Wraps, receiving a a a a a a rating due to rave reviews from the family.  We tried them on egg roll wrappers which we then fried.  Does anyone know if egg roll wrappers bake well?  I like the idea of an Asian wrapper instead of flour tortillas, but I’d like it to be a bit healthier.  In any case, this recipe was EASY–a big plus for me!!

Here’s what’s cooking at my house this week:

Monday:  Grilled chicken breast, corn on the cob, sauteed squash (a carryover from last week)

Tuesday:  Hot dogs and grilled sausage (a carryover from last week)

Wednesday:  Happy Birthday, America!!!  We’ll be celebrating with friends, but I will take along Uncle Shelby’s wonderfully spicy crockpot baked beans.

Hot Sausage Baked Beans

1 lb. hot sausage
1 48 oz. can Bush’s Original Baked Beans
1 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup hot water
1 tsp. mustard
1 tsp. ginger
1 tsp. garlic salt
1 fresh jalapeno pepper 

Fry sausage until well cooked.  Drain grease.  Open canned beans and drain.  Put sausage and beans in slow cooker.  Add brown sugar.  In separate bowl, combine water, mustard, ginger and garlic salt.  Mix well and add to mixture already in slow cooker.  Chop jalapeno in small pieces and add to cooker.  Cook on high for 2-3 hours.

Thursday:  Individual pizzas…variety of toppings

Friday:  Taco Pie, Mexican rice, chips & salsa, guacamole

Saturday:  Fish in Foil, steamed asparagus, rice

Sunday:  Slow Cooker Chicken & Dumplings

Check out The Organizing Junkie for more Menu Plan Monday ideas.  Have a wonderful week in the kitchen!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2007 8:18 am

    Your menu looks delicious!
    ♥♥♥♥
    annie
    My Life as Annie!

  2. July 2, 2007 8:22 am

    Those Mu Shu Chicken wraps look great!! According to this website (http://www.cdkitchen.com/recipes/recs/151/Baked_Egg_Rolls12956.shtml), egg roll wrappers bake fine!!

    Have a great week!

  3. July 2, 2007 8:41 am

    the wrappers bake well if you line the pan with a thin coat of oil and place the wrapper in the pan when its HOT. Great menu week!! Enjoy your holiday.

  4. July 2, 2007 9:32 am

    It all looks delicious! I love your idea to make the mu-shu wraps with the egg roll wraps!
    Happy 4th!

  5. July 2, 2007 3:30 pm

    I must try the fish in foil. We don’t eat enough fish here, mainly because of the lingering smell. This is the answer!

    Thankyou for visiting my little bit of Ireland.

  6. July 2, 2007 4:08 pm

    Your menu looks great!

  7. July 3, 2007 9:55 am

    hi .thanks for visiting us! I’ll be making the Mu Shu chicken.thanks for posting it..have a great week.

  8. July 3, 2007 10:22 pm

    Great idea for the mu shu wraps to be done up in egg roll wrapper. I think I would like that even better and think I will try it. I posted my corn dip recipe on my blog tonight–let me know if you try it, okay? 🙂
    Happy Fourth to you–
    Kim
    http://mom-musings.blogspot.com/

  9. July 5, 2007 1:18 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog, think my 12 year old might eat the spicy beans. He doesn’t usually eat beans, but he’s mad for spicy things, so it might work!

Trackbacks

  1. Thankful Thursday: Counting My Blessings in the U.S.A. « Slava Bogu

Leave a Reply

