Skip to content

Smart Habit Saturday: Game Time

June 30, 2007

Smart Habit Saturday

I didn’t have time to participate in Smart Habit Saturday last week as my husband and I had the privilege of attending an awesome conference on the Persecuted Church.

This week, I want to add the habit of playing games with my children on a weekly basis.  They all like to play games.  We used to play board games and card games a lot, but with all three in school last year, somehow we did it less and less.  My oldest son got games for his birthday in January which we still have not played, partly because it is hard to find a time when we can do this without the younger siblings around.  So, with the month of July upon us, I would like to start intentionally having these times with the children at least in the summer months, when we have more time to do it.

Here’s an update on my habits to date:

1 diet coke a dayOkay.  I am doing this 4-5 days of the week, but certainly have days when I have 3 or 4.

Making up my bed every morningNot good.  I am doing this about three days a week…definitely leaving room for improvement.

Touch the mail onceGood.  I have been doing this almost every day for several weeks.

The one habit I did not update was having my kids clean their rooms for 15 minutes every night before going to bed.  Well, the first week of that I really failed.  It seemed we always had stuff going on at night and we (the parents) were just ready to get the kids to bed by that point in the day.  So, after reading another blog (I wish I remember which one) and seeing a great idea, I decided to make up chore charts on magnetic whiteboards instead.  The children have a magnet for each of their everyday chores and a different colored magnet for their non-daily chores.  There is a “Not Done” and “Done” section on the board which is divided using colored duct tape.  Everyday, when the kids complete a task, they move that magnet to the completed section.  They have great fun trying to complete all the tasks and being in charge of keeping up with what they have accomplished.  Plus, they earn treasure tokens every day they read their Bibles and tokens every day they complete all their tasks.  They receive a reward once enough tokens have been earned.  This seems to be working MUCH better for us.  I’ll try to update this post with a picture of a chore chart in the next day or two.

Hope your habits are going well.  Join Lara over the The Lazy Organizer for more habits!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2007 9:05 pm

    I’m glad you’ve found something that is working for your kids. Good job on the mail. When am I going to get this one figured out?

  2. June 30, 2007 11:39 pm

    I like your mail idea- I need to impliment that for sure. Good luck with your other habits!

  3. nsdesperatehousewife permalink
    June 30, 2007 11:53 pm

    Aw, game night! Brings back great memories. I think that is a great new habit. Your chore chart sounds great. Enjoy the rest of the weekend & good luck on your habits!

  4. fractalmyth permalink
    July 1, 2007 12:45 am

    Wow – your chore chart sounds fantastic! I can’t wait for Wombat to be old enough to try that – I just hope I can save the idea somewhere I will remember it in a few years time!!!

  5. July 1, 2007 1:47 am

    We all have to keep working on things. We have to keep teaching our children. Thanks for visiting my blog!

Trackbacks

  1. SMART Habit Saturday « Slava Bogu

Leave a Reply

