Skip to content

Smart Habit Saturday: Keeping the Kids’ Rooms from Being Declared a Disaster Zone!

June 16, 2007

S.M.A.R.T. Habit SaturdayThis week actually went pretty well.  I managed to have the bed made up every morning but one (okay…DH did it once for me, but I still made it up 5 out of 7 days, and that’s a big improvement!

 I am very tired tonight as we just had company leave after a wonderful visit, but I still wanted to give an update on my habits and decide on a new one to start.  This week, I want all the kids to have a time right before supper where they pick up their rooms so they are neat when they go to bed.  It seems we frequently let everything crowd out the need to straighten their rooms, but after just a few days of not putting things up, their rooms are a DISASTER!

 Here’s an update on the other habits:

  1. 1 Diet Coke a day–working on it, but improving
  2. Going through the mail once and not letting it lie around in unattended piles–great!
  3. Making up my bed every day–good!

Good luck on implementing your smart habit this week!  Please join in on the fun over at the Lazy Organizer

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2007 10:01 pm

    Sounds like you have some great habits forming. I try to get my kids to pick up their room daily too. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t.

    Good luck this week!
    ~Betty~

  2. June 16, 2007 10:09 pm

    What great progress you are making. Good luck with your new habit. Hopefully it will become a part of your daily routine before you know it.

  3. June 16, 2007 10:48 pm

    This is a good one! I may have to try it sometime. Good luck!

  4. June 17, 2007 1:48 pm

    great idea. I think it’s so much easier to go to bed with a clean room. hope it all goes well this week.

  5. June 17, 2007 8:21 pm

    A very good idea. (good job on the diet coke thing too – that’s a toughie).

    Thanks for stopping by.

  6. June 17, 2007 10:11 pm

    Great habit for both you and the kids. We need to do some decluttering so that son has a chance of keeping his room picked up.

    Have a great week!

  7. June 18, 2007 9:26 pm

    5 out of 7 is awesome! Keep up the good work!

  8. June 19, 2007 4:25 pm

    Don’t you just loving having your bed made? I love mine! I don’t think it was ever an official SHS of mine but I picked it up by watching others doing it.

    Great job!

  9. June 24, 2007 8:55 pm

    I’ve often wnated to do a quick pick up before dinner but I get so caught up with dinner prep that I don’t do it (or even make the kids do it). Maybe if I start a habit of prepping dinner earlier then I could work on this one. Let us know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

