Skip to content

And They Said More…

June 15, 2007

So, Sweet Pea is visiting her grandmommie this week.  They were on their way (unsuccessfully) to find a place to pick blueberries with Sweet Pea’s great-grandmother, Granny, when the conversation took a turn.  It went something like this: 

Grandmommie:  Sweet Pea, did you see those penny flowers back there? 

Sweet Pea:  (laughing) Penny flowersssssss…what do they look like? 

Grandmommie:  Well, Sweet Pea, you’ll just have to use your imagination. 

Sweet Pea: (with a giggle) Grandmommmmiiiiieeeeee, adults don’t have imagination.

 Apparently, all of our creative moments together have been for naught.

Later this week, I was speaking to Bossy Boy (perhaps more aptly named Cheeky Boy or Boy with No Fear) who is staying with his Pa & Grandma.  He had called several times in the last two days, and I was concerned that he might be getting homesick.  Bossy Boy had his aunt busily trying to get Are You Smarter than a Fifth Grader to play on T.V.  As I was telling him what Funny Boy and I had done that day, he said laughingly, “Mama, I’m not really worried about that right now.  I’m worried about my show.”  So much for my concern, huh?  lol

Over the course of the children staying with grandparents, secrets about their mama have come to light.  Some of these secrets, cannot be shared with my public (all five of you).  These strange creatures between the ages of 5 and 9 can, and will, say anything.  Today, Sweet Pea is riding back home with her aunt, uncle and cousins who are coming for a one night visit.  I can only futilely hope none of my embarassing moments come to light on the 2 hour trip.  You know, like the time a couple of years ago when I got a speeding ticket and they couldn’t wait to share that despite knowing I was not a happy camper about it.

 So be warned, friends who have not experienced the blessing of children yet, all privacy ends when the children arrive.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

